Tuesday, November 27, 2012

WEBSITES THAT MAY HELP WITH YOUR STUDIES



SHORT STORIES AND NOVELS
·         Classic short stories http://classicshorts.com/
·         Page by page books  http://pagebypagebooks.com/
·         American literature  http://americanliterature.com/
·         Free e-books by Project Gutenberg  http://www.gutenberg.org/
·         Stack room  http://www.beststackroom.com/  
AUDIO BOOKS: UNSIMPLIFIED
·         Loyal Books http://www.loyalbooks.com/  
DOCUMENTARIES
·         Top documentary films  http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/  
·         Films for action http://www.filmsforaction.org/
LISTENING PLUS QUESTIONS
·         Randall’s ESL cyber listening lab http://esl-lab.com/   
·         Lyrics training http://lyricstraining.com/
·         ESL lounge  http://www.esl-lounge.com/premium/listening.php
·         Listening comprehension and note taking http://www.uefap.com/listen/exercise/exlis.htm
     Voscreen http://www.voscreen.com/ 
LISTEN AND READ
·         Slow English http://slowenglish.info/
·         Buzzle   http://www.buzzle.com/  
·         VOA learning English http://learningenglish.voanews.com/
     Quick and Dirty tips http://www.quickanddirtytips.com/health-fitness/mental-health/how-to-tell-if-someone-is-lying 
     LISTEN, TAKE NOTES AND SUMMARIZE 
      Famous speeches delivered by President Barrack Obama http://www.americanrhetoric.com/barackobamaspeeches.htm
       Speeches http://www.americanrhetoric.com/  
     Educational videos to base writing on https://www.youtube.com/user/crashcourse/playlists 
     LISTEN TO POETRY
·         Poetry foundation http://www.poetryfoundation.org/features/audiolanding
·         Listen to poetry https://www.englishclub.com/listening/poetry.htm
      LISTEN TO REAL LIFE EXPERIENCES
      ·         Story Corps https://storycorps.org/  
      FUN WITH LISTENING
·         Jokes in levels http://www.jokesinlevels.com/  
LISTEN TO ACADEMIC LECTURES
·         The Royal Society of Arts https://www.thersa.org/discover/videos/
·         BBC Radio podcasts http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02nrtpm/episodes/downloads
      TRT World http://www.trtworld.com/  (Suggested by Yahya Doğan)
LISTENING PLUS GRAMMAR
·         Learning English with Jennifer https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL0A0C8CFFE9712B76
·         Learning American English online https://www.youtube.com/user/learnamericanenglish/videos
·         James ESL English lessons https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwA7Aepp7nRUJNa8roQ-6Bw
·         Check the ribbon on the right in the third link for more video lessons on engVid
      Fun with grammar  http://theproproom.blogspot.com.tr/2015/10/fun-with-grammar-watch-listen-and-learn.html
FREE COURCES
·         Memrise http://www.memrise.com/courses/english/english/
 ESSAY TOPICS
·         The learning network
http://learning.blogs.nytimes.com/2015/02/05/301-prompts-for-argumentative-writing/
     ·  Suggest a topic
http://www.procon.org/view.background-resource.php?resourceID=001465
  MATERIAL FOR GRAPH WRITING
Pew Research Center http://www.pewresearch.org/
BEGINNER AND PRE INT READING PLUS QUESTIONS AND GRAMMAR
·         National geographic life http://www.ngllife.com/content/reading-texts-word
·         English Online:  http://www.english-online.at/  Explore the options on the site
·         VOA Learn English http://learningenglish.voanews.com/p/5610.html
Scroll down to the bottom of the page and explore
·         ESL lounge http://www.esl-lounge.com/level1breadwrite.php  Explore the site; there is lots you can do
       Breaking News English http://www.breakingnewsenglish.com/  
·         BBC Learning English http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/multimedia/london/   
·         CNN Student News http://edition.cnn.com/studentnews
·          Easy reading for ESL beginners http://www.rong-chang.com/ne/
·        English for intermediate learners http://www.rong-chang.com/qa2/
·         University of Victoria study zone http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/studyzone/index.htm
·         Teach Ya English for free  http://www.teachya.com/
READ MAGAZINES AND NEWSPAPERS
·         News in levels  http://www.newsinlevels.com/
·         Times in plain English http://www.thetimesinplainenglish.com/wp/
       Research Digest  https://digest.bps.org.uk/
·         AEON http://aeon.co/magazine/science/  
·         Wired  http://www.wired.com/
·         Scientific American  http://www.scientificamerican.com/
·         Nature  http://www.nature.com/  
·         Psychology Today https://www.psychologytoday.com/
·         The Guardian http://www.theguardian.com/international
·         The Daily Telegraph  http://www.telegraph.co.uk/
·         The Wall Street Journal http://www.wsj.com/europe
·         The Atlantic  http://www.theatlantic.com/world/
·         The New York Times http://www.nytimes.com/  
·         Huffington Post  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/
·         BBC  http://www.bbc.com/news
       CNN http://edition.cnn.com/
      VOCABULARY TESTS
·         VS Test Your Word Knowledge http://my.vocabularysize.com/  (This site enables teachers to prepare vocabulary tests and students to learn and practice through vocabulary games)
  Learner’s Vocabulary Quiz http://learnersdictionary.com/quiz/vocabulary-start      SUMMARY WRITING
·         How to write a summary https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGWO1ldEhtQ
·         Summary writing: Learn how to write a summary https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VwEl-MiZH0E
      NOTE MAKING
·         Note making https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mKKi0UlrHsk
Note making: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9jgHocI5Zw
      CHECK WORD USE AND COLLOCATIONS
      Online Collocation Dictionary http://www.freecollocation.com/ 

ONLINE COLLEGE COURSES
·         Coursera https://www.coursera.org/
·         EdX  https://www.edx.org/home
·         Future Learn  Join 5,744,331 people learning together at Future Learn. Try high quality online education – enjoy free online courses from top universities and specialist organisations.
https://www.futurelearn.com/
·         Udacity https://www.udacity.com/  

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for sharing. I hope it will be helpful for too many people that are searching for this topic.
    Signature:
    facebook entrar iniciar sesion gratis - Sitio Oficial iniciado sesión en Facebook lengua española. facebook entrar rápido, facebook iniciar sesion en tu cuenta de entrar facebook

    ReplyDelete